the Ankle Joint: some hints

The ankle is the region where the foot and the leg meet. The ankle joint is actually composed by three smaller joints:

  1. the ankle joint proper, commonly called ankle mortise joint (but also talocrural joint).  It is a synovial hinge joint that connects the distal ends of both the tibia and the fibula in the lower limb with the proximal end of the talus.
  2. the subtalar joint, that occurs at the meeting point of the talus and the calcaneus.
  3. the inferior tibiofibular joint, between the fibula and the tibia. More precisely, it is formed by the rough, convex surface of the medial side of the distal end of the fibula, and a (corresponding) rough concave surface on the lateral side of the tibia.

ankle joint and its three sub-joints

The boney architecture of the ankle consists of three bones: the tibia, the fibula (in the leg) and the talus (in the foot). The talus is also called the ankle bone since it’s the most important bone in the ankle articulation. In normal health conditions, the articulation between the tibia and the talus (ankle mortise joint) bears the greatest part of body weight: it is the region where ankle efforts are mostly concentrated.

The medial malleolus is a boney processmalleoli extending distally off the medial tibia. There is also a lateral malleolus, generated by a distal-most aspect of the fibula. Together, the two malleoli, along with their supporting ligaments, stabilize the talus underneath the tibia.

The ankle joint is bound by the strong deltoid ligament (it is attached at the medial malleolus of the tibia and supports the medial side of the whole joint) and three lateral ligaments: the anterior and posterior talofibular ligaments (they support the lateral side of the joint, from the lateral malleolus to the dorsal and ventral ends of the talus) and the calcaneofibular ligament (it is attached at the lateral malleolus and to the lateral surface of the calcaneus).

ankle ligaments

Achille's tendonThe calcaneus is also attached to the Achille’s tendon (also known as the calcaneal tendon or the tendo calcaneus), that is a tendonous extension of gastrocnemius and soleus muscles of the leg. It attaches the heel to the posterior leg.

Concerning the joint motion, the ankle joint theoretically admits 1 degree of freedom: movements of plantar flexion and dorsiflexion.

ankle motions

In addition to these, the geometry of the different bones that form the articulation permits other more limited movements, such as foot eversion and inversion.

sources: Wikipedia and this website

23 thoughts on “the Ankle Joint: some hints

  1. Pingback: let’s take stock of … the lower limb ! | andreacollo

  2. After looking over a few of the blog articles on your website, I honestly appreciate your way of writing a blog.
    I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back in the near future.

    Take a look at my website too and tell me how you feel.

  3. you are truly a just right webmaster. The website loading velocity is incredible.
    It sort of feels that you are doing any unique trick.
    Also, The contents are masterwork. you’ve done a wonderful task on this subject!

  4. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to tears
    at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get
    home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, wonderful blog!

  5. I do accept as true with all the concepts you’ve offered
    for your post. They’re really convincing
    and can definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts
    are very quick for starters. May just you please extend them a little from next
    time? Thanks for the post.

  6. First off I would like to say fantastic blog!
    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your
    head before writing. I have had trouble clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first
    10 to 15 minutes are generally lost simply just trying to figure out
    how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Thank you!

  7. Hello there, I think your blog may be having browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I take a look at your website in Safari, it looks fine
    however, if opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads
    up! Other than that, fantastic website!

Leave a comment